Close of one chapter, begining another

Trip Start Jul 30, 2006
1
199
Trip End Ongoing


Loading Map
Map your own trip!
Map Options
Show trip route
Hide lines
shadow

Flag of United States  , Illinois
Sunday, July 30, 2006

     Arriving in Chicago on November 1st 2002 via job transfer from New York City, I was surprised at how green and clean the city is even though it is the third largest city in the United States (2.8mm).  A year later my girlfriend Lyn moved to Chicago and a year after that... we bought a condo near Printers Row.  The next two years were spent gutting and remodeling the condo after work and on weekends. (See Album)
     There are a ton of things to do in Chicago and the summers are great, but as time passed, we felt we were missing out on the relationships with our lifelong friends and family back on the east coast.  We decided to put the condo up for sale and eventually make our way back east.  But the condo sold in a matter of days instead of months and we were forced to make some quick decisions!  We figured this might be the only chance we get to follow one of our dreams which is to do some extensive traveling.  Months earlier we were trying to decide on where to go on vacation.  We asked ourselves, "If you could go anywhere on earth, where would you go?"  The problem was that there were too many answers!  We dreamed of an 'around the world trip', but knew that it was not possible to take that much time off of work and we had a mortgage to think about.  But since the condo sold so quickly, this might be the only chance we have to do such a trip.  So the research started again, trips to the doctor for checkups, not to mention the shots... (Hepatitas A, Hep B, Tetinus, Polio, Yellow fever and prescriptions for Typhoid and Malaria.) Fun stuff.
     I guess it is time to see our favorite sites of Chicago one last time.  There were so many places we could not see them all.  But we did go for a few bike rides along Grant Park that follows the coast of Lake Michigan (some quick facts; It is the only Great Lake entirely in the US, at  307 miles (494 km) long and 118 miles (190 km) wide itcovers 22,400 square miles (58,016 km2) making it the largest freshwater lake in the US and the 5th largest in the world.  Some of our other favorites...

Drive: Lake Shore Drive north, over to Wrigley Field, around to United Center, down to Comiskey Park and back.  Gives a good feel of the city and hits alot of nieghborhoods (both good and bad).
Boat Tour-.......................................................http://www.wendellaboats.com/tours.htm
Navy pier- Nice walk........................................www.navypier.com
Beaches - http://chicago.about.com/od/attractionsentertainment/tp/0515 06_beaches.htm
  Castaways for drinks -unique bar/rest. overlooking the most popular beach.
Sears Tower- Worlds tallest from 1974 to 1996 http://www.thesearstower.com/home2.axis
Hancock Tower - Signature Room for drinks.....http://www.hancock-observatory.com/
  Rush Street & Divison Street-Bar hopping
Chicago Mob Tour - The 'Untouchables'..........http://www.gangstertour.com/
Wrigley Field Tour-...............................http://chicago.cubs.mlb.com/chc/ballpark/index.jsp
Second City Comedy Theatre - ......................http://www.secondcity.com/
Site of 'Chicago Fire' of 1871-........................http://www.chicagohs.org/fire/i ntro/
Shedd Aquarium - .......................................http://www.sheddaquarium.org/
Adler Planetarium -......................................http://www.adlerplanetarium.org/
Michigan Ave (aka- Magnifigant Mile).............Shopping
   There are always fireworks somewhere.
   Taste of Chicago (in the summer)

Sports...
  Chicago Cubs baseball game............................www.chicagocubs.com 
  Chicago White Sox Baseball game...................www.whitesox.com
  Chicago Bears Football game...........................www.chicagobears.com
  Chicago Bulls Basketball game.........................www.nba.com/bulls
  Chicago Blackhawks Ice Hockey game.............www.chicagoblackhawks.com
  Chicago Fire Professional Soccer......................www.chicago-fire.com
  Chicago Rush - Arena football............................www.chicagorush.com

Chicago Food...
  RedHots - Hot dogs with the works. (try Sammy's on Division Street.)
  Italian Beef
  Chicago deep dish pizza
(I prefer Giordanos, but Ginos East is also popular).
  Sallie Mae Chocolates
  Garretts Popcorn-

For current events check Metromix.com and/or ChciagoReader.com...
http://metromix.chicagotribune.com/
http://www.chicagoreader.com/

Map of Chicago...
http://maps.yahoo.com/maps.py?&addr=&csz=Chicago,IL

rbartorillo Farruggia Bartorillo
Slideshow Report as Spam

Comments

noderer
noderer on

Good Luck!
Hello Bart and Lyn,

Sounds like fun! Best of luck with your travels. I look forward to seeing updates to this site!

Regards,

Adam

GretchenSnider25 on

I received 1 st home loans when I was a teenager and that supported my
business a lot. However, I need the credit loan also.

Add Comment

Use this image in your site

Copy and paste this html: