Found St Peters Catholic Church in Hillside Crescent where Liz’s great great grandparents were married in 1866 and several of their children baptized and took many photos! Also wandered around the shops visiting a few lovely antique stores then onto Willow Park which was once the original hospital and asylum where people ended up that could not care for themselves
. Went to the Oast House & Museum (historic) on the way to our accommodation at Tynwald, only to find the it closed and up for lease, so only got a couple of photos from the car. On to Tynwald to check in, built in 1822 as the grain store for the local flour mill, now a very popular and exclusive B & B. The owners, Pat & Garry (both qualified chefs) are away in the UK for 6 weeks so, unfortunately their restaurant is not open for dining (something we were really looking forward to as it had great write-ups in the travel blogs). Back into New Norfolk for a light meal at the historic Bush Inn (built 1815) and then back to Tynwald for wine and chocolates in front of the fire. Porridge is one of the menu choices for breakfast in the morning with Bob & Jen (house-sitting for the owners), so we can start the day with a hot breakfast. Tomorrow we are searching for "Fenton Farm", the farm where Liz’s 2x great grandparents and their young family were employed by the Salter Family for farm work, off the ship in 1853, as free immigrants from Ireland. Fenton Forest’s main crops were apples, pears, tobacco and later hops. We will also head for Russell Falls and the Styx Valley in the Mt Field National Park.
A cold night at Peppermint Ridge Retreat, Woodbridge, but the fire was burning, the beds were comfy and the doonas warm, so we all slept OK. Up at 7.00am for a cuppa and photos of the dawn over Bruny Island, then breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes and organic eggs. Packed up and left about 10.00am heading back to Hobart. Did some compulsory shopping for some warmer clothes then north west to New Norfolk. Did a pub crawl of 3 of the 4 historic pubs including the Bush Inn, built 1815, where the first telephone trunk call in the Commonwealth was made. The Hotel's telephone number was New Norfolk 1 right up until 1970, when the automatic exchanges were introduced.