Up up and I got to go

Trip Start Unknown
1
3
4
Trip End Ongoing


Loading Map
Map your own trip!
Map Options
Show trip route
Hide lines
shadow
Where I stayed
starbucks

Flag of United States  , Pennsylvania
Monday, May 31, 2010

1825 with the Doylestown Fire Engine Company.
In 1838 the Borough of Doylestown was incorporated.
An electric telegraph station was built in 1846 and in 1856 a branch
of the North Pennsylvania Railroad was
completed to Doylestown. The first gas lights were introduced in 1854.
Because of the town's relatively high elevation and a lack of strong
water power, substantial industrial development never occurred and
Doylestown evolved to have a professional and residential character.
During the mid-nineteenth century several large tracts located east
of the courthouse area were subdivided into neighborhoods. The next
significant wave of development occurred after the Civil War when the 30-acre (120,000 m2) Magill
property to the southwest of the town's core was subdivided for
residential lots.
In 1869 Doylestown established a water works. The first telephone
line arrived in 1878, the same year that a new courthouse was erected.
1897 saw the first of several trolley lines connecting Doylestown with Willow
Grove
, Newtown and Easton beginning operation. A private sewer system and
treatment plant was authorized in 1903. The Borough took over and
expanded sewer service to about three-quarters of the town in 1921.
In the early 20th century, Doylestown became best known to the
outside world through the "Tools of the Nation-Maker" museum of the Bucks County Historical Society. Henry Chapman Mercer constructed the reinforced
poured concrete building in 1916 to house his collection of mechanical
tools and utensils. Upon his death in 1930, Mercer also left his
similarly constructed home Fonthill and adjacent "Moravian Pottery and Tile Works",
to be operated as a museum. The home was left on the condition that his
housekeeper be allowed to live there for the rest of her life. She
lived there and gave tours until the mid nineteen-seventies.
1825 with the Doylestown Fire Engine Company.
In 1838 the Borough of Doylestown was incorporated.
An electric telegraph station was built in 1846 and in 1856 a branch
of the North Pennsylvania Railroad was
completed to Doylestown. The first gas lights were introduced in 1854.
Because of the town's relatively high elevation and a lack of strong
water power, substantial industrial development never occurred and
Doylestown evolved to have a professional and residential character.
During the mid-nineteenth century several large tracts located east
of the courthouse area were subdivided into neighborhoods. The next
significant wave of development occurred after the Civil War when the 30-acre (120,000 m2) Magill
property to the southwest of the town's core was subdivided for
residential lots.
In 1869 Doylestown established a water works. The first telephone
line arrived in 1878, the same year that a new courthouse was erected.
1897 saw the first of several trolley lines connecting Doylestown with Willow
Grove
, Newtown and Easton beginning operation. A private sewer system and
treatment plant was authorized in 1903. The Borough took over and
expanded sewer service to about three-quarters of the town in 1921.
In the early 20th century, Doylestown became best known to the
outside world through the "Tools of the Nation-Maker" museum of the Bucks County Historical Society. Henry Chapman Mercer constructed the reinforced
poured concrete building in 1916 to house his collection of mechanical
tools and utensils. Upon his death in 1930, Mercer also left his
similarly constructed home Fonthill and adjacent "Moravian Pottery and Tile Works",
to be operated as a museum. The home was left on the condition that his
housekeeper be allowed to live there for the rest of her life. She
lived there and gave tours until the mid nineteen-seventies.1825 with the Doylestown Fire Engine Company.
In 1838 the Borough of Doylestown was incorporated.
An electric telegraph station was built in 1846 and in 1856 a branch
of the North Pennsylvania Railroad was
completed to Doylestown. The first gas lights were introduced in 1854.
Because of the town's relatively high elevation and a lack of strong
water power, substantial industrial development never occurred and
Doylestown evolved to have a professional and residential character.
During the mid-nineteenth century several large tracts located east
of the courthouse area were subdivided into neighborhoods. The next
significant wave of development occurred after the Civil War when the 30-acre (120,000 m2) Magill
property to the southwest of the town's core was subdivided for
residential lots.
In 1869 Doylestown established a water works. The first telephone
line arrived in 1878, the same year that a new courthouse was erected.
1897 saw the first of several trolley lines connecting Doylestown with Willow
Grove
, Newtown and Easton beginning operation. A private sewer system and
treatment plant was authorized in 1903. The Borough took over and
expanded sewer service to about three-quarters of the town in 1921.
In the early 20th century, Doylestown became best known to the
outside world through the "Tools of the Nation-Maker" museum of the Bucks County Historical Society. Henry Chapman Mercer constructed the reinforced
poured concrete building in 1916 to house his collection of mechanical
tools and utensils. Upon his death in 1930, Mercer also left his
similarly constructed home Fonthill and adjacent "Moravian Pottery and Tile Works",
to be operated as a museum. The home was left on the condition that his
housekeeper be allowed to live there for the rest of her life. She
lived there and gave tours until the mid nineteen-seventies.1825 with the Doylestown Fire Engine Company.
In 1838 the Borough of Doylestown was incorporated.
An electric telegraph station was built in 1846 and in 1856 a branch
of the North Pennsylvania Railroad was
completed to Doylestown. The first gas lights were introduced in 1854.
Because of the town's relatively high elevation and a lack of strong
water power, substantial industrial development never occurred and
Doylestown evolved to have a professional and residential character.
During the mid-nineteenth century several large tracts located east
of the courthouse area were subdivided into neighborhoods. The next
significant wave of development occurred after the Civil War when the 30-acre (120,000 m2) Magill
property to the southwest of the town's core was subdivided for
residential lots.
In 1869 Doylestown established a water works. The first telephone
line arrived in 1878, the same year that a new courthouse was erected.
1897 saw the first of several trolley lines connecting Doylestown with Willow
Grove
, Newtown and Easton beginning operation. A private sewer system and
treatment plant was authorized in 1903. The Borough took over and
expanded sewer service to about three-quarters of the town in 1921.
In the early 20th century, Doylestown became best known to the
outside world through the "Tools of the Nation-Maker" museum of the Bucks County Historical Society. Henry Chapman Mercer constructed the reinforced
poured concrete building in 1916 to house his collection of mechanical
tools and utensils. Upon his death in 1930, Mercer also left his
similarly constructed home Fonthill and adjacent "Moravian Pottery and Tile Works",
to be operated as a museum. The home was left on the condition that his
housekeeper be allowed to live there for the rest of her life. She
lived there and gave tours until the mid nineteen-seventies.
Slideshow Report as Spam

Use this image in your site

Copy and paste this html: